The all-in-one Christian Web Site Community - Praize.com
Skip to Content

My Testimony

Quote Reply
My Testimony
Hello everyone,

I wanted to share my story with you.

My name is Stephen Merritt, and I live in Nashville, Tennessee, am married and at long last have found a church to call home. Redeemer Lutheran Church. It is a solid, confessional LCMS congregation that I like quite a bit.

I was drawn to Lutheranism after a long, long search for a church. Drawn to liturgy, the Lutheran church is a natural for me. As I read about the various Lutheran bodies, I focused on the Missouri Synod, but also the confessional movement. I am new to the latter and any recommendations in learning more about this topic will be appreciated!

This is not my first venture into the Lutheran church, but my second. I first investigated this church about a year ago and am now back after a lapse! Things were going so well for me at church too! Well here's what happened - my wife and I need your prayers. This is intended merely as an update and not as a whine or desperate plea for attention!

Over a year ago, my wife lost her job over a year ago due to health issues. She has fibromyalgia and bipolar disorder and is trying for social security disability. So far, she's been turned down two of her three times and the final appeal is next. That's the one that is before the judge and is the most likely one to be approved we here. It's also her final appeal. If that's not approved, I don't know what we�re going to do.

We've been struggling to get by on what I earn from my full-time job (I am a sales rep for a book wholesaler) and two days part-time. It's been extremely difficult. We often have to go with only one meal a day and sometimes have had to forgo even that. I make just enough income that we don't usually qualify for public assistance. Often, we have had trouble paying our bills and keeping the utilities on. I only have one day off a week and have been getting more and more tired.